Assam Election 2021: Raijor Dal, KMSS Urge AJP to Withdraw Nomination From Barkhetry Constituency

No Comments
Posted in Assam, Assam, Elections, Featured, Northeast

The Nalbari district committees of Raijor Dal and Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) have jointly written to Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) to withdraw their nomination from the Barkhetry Assembly constituency of the district and support Raijor Dal’s candidate Rasel Hussain.

The letter was written on March 9 further said that Hussain, who is also the vice president of the party, is a strong candidate whose chances of victory is more.

The letter further stated that by withdrawing from the Barkhetry constituency the AJP would help in strengthening regionalism in the constituency.

Further, it was stated that KMSS and Raijor Dal would extend their full support to AJP candidates Nagen Deka and Dr Sikhar Kumar Sarma- who are contesting from Nalbari and Dharmapur Assembly constituency respectively.

The AJP is expected to give its reply by Friday (March 12) and if it agrees to the request made by KMSS and Raijor Dal then the contest in Barkhetry constituency is bound to get interesting.

It may be mentioned here that BJP’s Narayan Deka is the current MLA of Barkhetry who received a total of 69,223 votes in the 2016 Assembly polls.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles