Assam Election 2021: Will CAA Turn The Tide Against BJP In Chabua?

No Comments
Posted in Assam, Assam, Featured, National, Northeast

Will the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA to win the Chabua assembly constituency or the anti-Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) sentiments impact the election day results?

As Chabua was one of the hot-beds of the anti-CAA protests in Assam and also turned violent, so did the BJO decided not to field any candidate from the constituency and left it for its election ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP)?

Has the BJP already conceded defeat?

Well, these are some of the questions that have been raised by the people from across the state- especially those from the Dibrugarh in general and Chabua in particular.

“The incumbent Chabua MLA, Binod Hazarika, is from the BJP and the Lok Sabha MP from Dibrugarh, Rameswar Teli, is also from the BJP. Moreover, Chabua is also the native place of CM Sarbanada Sonowal. So what stopped the saffron party from fielding the incumbent MLA from the constituency?” questioned Harish Kumar Deka, a Chabua resident.

“During the CAA protests, several business establishments including railway stations, post offices, bank etc including the residence of MLA Binod Hazarika were set ablaze. I strongly believe these factors will still have an impact and these made the BJP doubtful of its chances,” he added.

It may be mentioned here that Binod Hazarika will be contesting from the Lahowal assembly constituency as the BJP decided to not give an election ticket to the present Lahowal MLA Rituparna Baruah.

Punakon Baruah of AGP will be contesting from the Lahowal constituency and he is pitted against Congress’ Ajoy Phukan and Raijor Dal’s Bhaben Baruah- who was a minister during the AGP regime.

The other candidates are Ananta Hazarika of the LJP, Prakash Tanti of the RLSP and Independents Priyanka Neog and Lawrence Nag.

“We don’t see why BJP won’t win from Chabua? People have realised now that they were wrong to protest against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA). What transpired back in 2019 has been long forgotten. The constituency has blossomed under the BJP MLA and people will vote for AGP’s Punakon Baruah as well,” said Jonali Devi, a BJP worker.

It may be mentioned here that the votes of the tea tribes community play an important role in the election.

Following is a list of the former MLAs from Chabua- 1978: Jnan Gogoi, Janata Party; 1983: Upendra Sanatan, Indian National Congress; 1985: Bhuban Barua, Independent; 1991: Upendra Sanatan, Indian National Congress; 1996: Bhaben Baruah, Asom Gana Parishad; 2001: Raju Sahu, Indian National Congress; 2006: Raju Sahu, Indian National Congress; 2011: Raju Sahu, Indian National Congress, and 2016: Binod Hazarika, Bharatiya Janata Party.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles