Assam Congress Leader Gautam Bora Resigns from Party After Ticket Denial

Former Assam minister and four-time MLA Gautam Bora resigned from the Congress party after the said former minister was denied a ticket from the Batadrava constituency.

In the resignation letter, addressed to the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora, the former Batadrava MLA resigned from the primary membership and all the other posts of the Indian National Congress.

Notably, in 2016, Angoorlata Deka defeated Gautam Bora with a margin of 5,885. While Angoorlata netted 46,343 votes, Gautam Bora got 40,458 votes.