Centre Extends Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act in 3 Districts of Arunachal

The Centre has extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act in three districts of Arunachal Pradesh by another six months.

The decision was taken following a review of the law and order situation in the three districts and the four police station areas concerned, a home ministry official said.

According to a notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts of Arunachal Pradesh and four police stations bordering Assam were declared “disturbed” areas under the AFSPA.

“Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts in Arunachal Pradesh and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of the following four police stations in other districts of Arunachal Pradesh, bordering the state of Assam, are declared as ‘disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 up to September 30, 2021 with effect from April 1, 2021, unless withdrawn earlier,” the notification said.