The Unstoppable Indian Paralympic Contingent

No Comments
Posted in Featured, National, Sports


  • NET Web Desk

The Tokyo Paralympic Games 2020 have bagged a string of seven medals into nine sporting disciplines. With India’s largest-ever contingent, participating for the sport, the nation has attained a successful Paralympics campaign reach.

A total of 54 Indian athletes are participating in nine International Sports – badminton, swimming, table tennis, powerlifting, taekwondo, archery, canoeing, shooting, athletics.

The 19-year-old, Avani Lekhara bagged the Gold Medal, thereby becoming the first Indian female athlete to win gold at the Paralympics. Avani just fired her way to the top of the podium in the R-2 women’s 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1 event. She finished with a world record equalling total of 249.6, which is also a new Paralympic record.

The two-time gold medallist, Devendra Jhajharia won the silver medal in the men’s javelin throw – F46 final event. India’s greatest Paralympian, Jhajharia after winning gold medals in the 2004 and 2016 Games, pulled off a new personal best throw of 64.35m for the silver.

Discus thrower Yogesh Kathuniya clinched a silver medal in the men’s F56 event. The 24-year-old, B.Com graduate from New Delhi’s Kirorimal College, sent the disc to a best distance of 44.38m in his sixth and last attempt to clinch the silver.

Sundar Singh Gurjar also chipped in with a bronze, finishing behind Jhajharia in the men’s javelin throw F46 final.

Another discus thrower, Vinod Kumar clinched a bronze medal in the men’s discus throw F52 event in the Tokyo Paralympics, thereby clinching with an Asian record effort.

Nishad Kumar capped the day with a historic silver in Men’s T47 High Jump, thereby clinching the silver medal.

While, Bhavinaben Hasmukhbhai Patel is the first Indian table tennis player to win a medal at the Para Games.

Appearing in her debut Paralympics, Bhavina Patel upset reigning champion Borislava Peric of Serbia en route to the final. In the gold medal match, the Indian lost to world No. 1 Zhou Ying of China and settled for the silver medal.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles