Congress Announce Candidates For Meghalaya Assembly By-Elections



  • NET Web Desk

The Indian National Congress (INC) President, Sonia Gandhi has selected the candidates for contesting into Meghalaya Assembly by-elections, to be held in October 2021.

Signed by the General Secretary & In-charge of Central Election Committee (CEC), Mukul Wasnik, the press release asserts that Hashina Yasmin Mondal has been selected as the Congress candidate to contest into the elections from the constituency Rajbala.

While, Highlander Kharmalki and Kennedy C Khriem has been selected as the candidates to contest into the elections from the constituency – Mawryngkneng-ST seat and Mawphlang-ST respectively.

It is pertinent to note that, on September 28, the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the dates to hold by-elections in Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies of various states, including Meghalaya.

The Assembly by-elections in the state will be conducted during the first schedule. According to ECI, the Polling Date for Meghalaya has been scheduled for October 30.