Assam: Counting In Five Major Assembly Seats Underway, BJP Takes Lead

Posted in Assam, Featured, Northeast
  • NET Web Desk

The results of the recently held by polls will be announced today as the counting of votes are already underway for the five assembly seats in Assam. Counting of votes for 5 Assembly seats in Assam – Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani, and Thowra commenced at around 8 AM on Tuesday, November 2.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Phanidhar Talukdar is leading with 5,754 votes against Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Sailendra Nath Das, who secured 598 votes from Assam’s Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency during the initial trends.

As per early trends, BJP candidate Rupjyoti Kurmi was leading in Mariani seat.

While, the ruling coalition partner United Peoples Party Liberal (UPPL) candidates leading in Gossaigaon and Tamulpur.

In a major development, a high voter turnout percentage of 73.77 that includes nearly eight lakh voters were witnessed in support of their constituency in the five regions.

Eight candidates each are in the fray in Gossaigaon and Bhabanipur, six in Tamulpur, five in Thowra, and four in Mariani.

It may be mentioned that, the highest count at 78 per cent was recorded at Bhabanipur assembly seat. Gossaigaon witnessed a voter turnout of 77.37 per cent, Tamulpur 67.88 per cent; 77.56 per cent was recorded at Thowra and a 71.70 per cent turnout at Mariani seat.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded its candidates in three out of the five seats, leaving the remaining two to the candidates of ally United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL). The Congress contested on all five seats, while its former allies All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) contested on two and one seats respectively.

Tags: , ,
More Articles