Manipur Assembly Elections 2022 : Lone TMC Legislator & Congress Leader Joins BJP

Posted in Featured, Manipur, Northeast


  • NET Web Desk

Ahead of the Assembly polls in the northeastern state of Manipur, the state’s lone Trinamool Congress (TMC) legislator Tongbram Robindro Singh, and former Congress lawmaker Yengkhom Surchandra Singh joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday, thereby delivering a major blow to the respective parties.

The induction ceremony held for welcoming the two members were attended by BJP’s state chief, A Sharda Devi; and the party’s Manipur in-charge, Ashok Singhal; among others.

Taking to Twitter, the BJP’s state chief, A Sharda Devi confirmed the news, “The joining reflects the growing positive attitude towards the progress our state has made under the dynamic leadership of PM Shri @narendramodi ji and CM Shri @NBirenSingh ji.” – she wrote.

Its worthy to note that the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the schedule of upcoming Assembly polls in 5 states – Manipur, Goa, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand. Incorporating of 60-member state assembly, polls in the northeastern state of Manipur will be conducted in two phases – on February 27 and March 3.

Tags: , , , , , ,
More Articles