Manipur : Government Offices Will Operate On 5-Days Week, Working Hours To Be Increased

Posted in Featured, Manipur, Northeast


  • NET Web Desk

The Manipur government has stated that government offices will operate on a five-day week without impacting critical services, and that working hours will be increased.

According to reports, the offices will now start functioning from 9 AM.

This decision was undertaken during the first cabinet meeting held at the chief minister’s secretariat in Imphal on Tuesday.

It was chaired by the Manipur Chief Minister – N Biren Singh; and was attended by the newly sworn-in five ministers – Th Biswajit, Y Khemchand, Govindas Konthoujam, Nemcha Kipgen and Awangbow Newmai.

“School schedules will be adjusted to align with students, allowing for proper home management and reducing road congestion. Classes will begin at 8 AM. The new arrangement will boost government workers’ production and productivity by offering much-needed relaxation and rejuvenation on weekends. It will also provide enough time for schoolchildren to utilise their afternoons productively.” – Singh added.

The Cabinet also asked the governor – La Ganesan, to call the first session of the new legislature and hold the Speaker election on March 24. The “100 tasks in 100 days” programme, which includes construction activities, was also approved.

Policy choices, construction projects, and systemic reforms will all be part of the 100-day plan.

The Cabinet also decided to make Manipur into corruption-free by reactivating and strengthening the Anti-Corruption Cell in the Chief Minister’s Office, which will be led by an Additional Superintendent of Police (ASP) official.

The “CM da Haisi Initiative” will be integrated into the Anti-Corruption Cell, with toll-free numbers set up for the public to send complaints. The cabinet also decided that the Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Department will act on actionable complaints received in the Anti-Corruption Cell within a set timeframe.

“If it is discovered that anyone, even members of the public, is giving or collecting bribe money, no one will be spared,” the cabinet resolved.

Its worthy to note that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader – N. Biren Singh on Monday took oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur for a second term at Raj Bhavan in Imphal.

The oath-taking ceremony was held in the presence of BJP’s national president – JP Nadda; BJP’s Manipur unit president – Adhikarimayum Sharda Devi; Assam Chief Minister – Himanta Biswa Sarma; Tripura Chief Minister – Biplab Kumar Deb; Nagaland Deputy CM – Y Patton, and other party leaders.

Besides, five legislators, including – Nemcha Kipgen, Y Khemchand Singh, Th Biswajit Singh, Awangbou Newmai and Govindas Konthoujam also sworn-in as the Cabinet Ministers.

Tags: , , ,
More Articles