Northeast Leaders Cast Votes For ‘Presidential Elections’; Check-Out Images Here 

Posted in Featured, National, Northeast


  • NET Web Desk

Voting to elect the new President of India, which began at 10 AM today is underway in parliament and in state legislatures across the nation. Elaborate arrangements have been made for the smooth conduct of the polling at these centres.

Besides, the Northeastern leaders, legislators, Members of Parliament (MPs) have also participated in the Election to the Office of the President of India 2022.

Let’s have some glimpses from the Presidential Elections being conducted at the Assembly Secretariats of the 8 Northeastern states.

A total of 123 of the 126 Assam MLAs, including Chief Minister – Himanta Biswa Sarma, have casted their votes for the presidential polls in the assembly. Out of the 126 MLAs, 123 casted their votes in the assembly, while Congress MLA Bharat Chandra Narah has sought permission to exercise his franchise in the Parliament as he is in New Delhi for treatment.

Meanwhile, 2 All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) legislators – Suzzamuddin Laskar and Nizamuddin Choudhury are currently outside the country.

Taking to Twitter, the Assam CM wrote “I cast my vote for the 2022 Presidential Election.”

The Manipur Chief Minister – N. Biren Singh alongwith other leaders, legislators have also participated in the ongoing polls at Manipur Assembly Secretariat, Imphal. Taking to Twitter, Singh wrote “Voted for Presidential Election, 2022”

Besides, the CLP leader and former chief minister – Okram Ibobi Singh, President of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) – K Meghachandra and other Congress MLAs also casted their votes.

Manipur has two Lok Sabah MPs, one of BJP and the other is Naga People’s Front, an ally of the BJP. The lone Rajya Sabha MP is also from BJP. In total, N Biren Singh-led government has 32 BJP MLAs and five NPF MLAs. Other political parties extended support to the state government were NPP with seven MLAs, JDU with six, KPA with two and three Independents.

The Meghalaya CM – Conrad Sangma; Arunachal Pradesh CM – Pema Khandu; Sikkim CM – Prem Singh Tamang (Golay); Mizoram CM – Zoramthanga; Nagaland CM – Neiphiu Rio; Tripura CM – Dr Manik Saha have also casted their respective votes. Let’s have a glimpse of the elections :

In Arunachal Pradesh, 59 MLAs out of 60 exercised their franchise till 12 AM on Monday to elect the new President of India, Assembly secretary K Habung said.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu and the Deputy Chief Minister – Chowna Mein were among the early ones to cast votes at Nokmey Namati Hall of the Assembly. All four Congress MLAs including, former chief minister Nabam Tuki, have also cast their votes.

Sikkim Chief Minister – Prem Singh Tamang (Golay) casting his vote


Mizoram Chief Minister – Zoramthanga casting his vote for the elections at state Assembly Secretariat, Aizawl


Addressing the mediapersons, the Tripura CM – Dr Manik Saha added “We came here today to cast vote to our NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu, who hails from an indigenous community. She also visited Tripura. I am confident enough that she will achieve a landslide victory. Beside BJP, representatives from other parties also supported her. There is no chance of cross-voting. We have urged the opposition parties too to favour her as for the first time an indigenous person is a candidate for president and I feel they should support.”

In Tripura, a total of 59 legislators out of 60 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and the Congress cast their votes to elect the new president of India.

The counting of the votes will take place on July 21 and the new President of India will take oath on July 25, as per the ECI schedule.

The former Jharkhand governor – Droupadi Murmu is the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate is set to win the election, while her opposition rival is Yashwant Sinha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
More Articles