TMC MPs Demand Repeal Of Assam-Meghalaya Border Pact; Inclusion Of Garo, Khasi Languages Into 8th Schedule 


  • NET Web Desk

The Trinamool Congress MPs on Tuesday launched an agitation at Vijay Chowk in New Delhi, demanding the revocation of Assam-Meghalaya border accord inked on March 2022.

This agreement aimed to end the five-decades-old border dispute, in six of the 12 disputed locations along the 884.9-km boundary that often led to tensions among them.

According to the TMC leader – Mukul Sangma, “we are trying to draw the attention of the Government of India to take cognisance of the sentiments of people of the state and scrap the Assam-Meghalaya border agreement.”

Taking to Twitter, the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) wrote “Today, our leaders and Hon’ble MPs protested outside the Parliament in New Delhi. Our demands are simple : Include Garo and Khasi languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India; Repeal Assam-Meghalaya border agreement.

Besides, the party has also demanded the inclusion of Garo and Khasi in the Eighth Schedule.

Its worthy to note that the Assam Chief Minister – Himanta Biswa Sarma and his Meghalaya counterpart – Conrad Sangma signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on March 2022, to resolve the border dispute between the two northeastern states.

In order to settle the border disputes, Assam & Meghalaya government focused on 5 aspects – historical facts, ethnicity, administrative convenience, contiguity of the land, willingness and people’s sentiments.

Based on the same, the regional committees were tasked with the responsibility of making joint visits to “areas of differences” along the inter-state border; thereby interacting with all stakeholders, village heads, record their views, and finally submit their reports.

Out of 12 disputed locations, in the first phase, 6 disputed locations were mutually studied – Tarabari, Gizang, Fahala, Baklapara, Khanapara (Pilingkata) and Ratacherra. These areas fall under Cachar, Kamrup and Kamrup Metropolitan districts of Assam and West Khasi Hills, Ri-Bhoi and East Jaintia Hills of Meghalaya.