Unity In Identity: KAAC To Celebrate Foundation Of Karbi Anglong Autonomous District On November 16-17

No Comments
Posted in Assam, Featured, Northeast
NET Web Desk

As an ode to the historic journey traversed through yesteryears the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) is gearing up to celebrate the foundation day of the Karbi Anglong Autonomous District on 16-17 November 2022 at Ethnic Village, Taralangso, Diphu.

The historic day, a commemoration of 71 years of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council formation has been planned with a wide array of activities. Besides the showcasing of the rich culture and tradition of the region, a visual exhibition narrating the tales of sacrifice, valour and angst will play a major attraction in the event this year.

In a recent review meeting held to discuss the preparedness for the day with all departmental heads at Karbi Hemtun, the Chief Executive Member (CEM) of KAAC Dr Tuliram Ronghang, informed that all CEMs of Northeast-based ADCs, former CEMs, EMs, MACs, DCs, and SPs, who served in Karbi Anglong district have been invited.

Dr Ronghang further informed that the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Assam Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma will grace the event as Chief Guest. Meghalaya CM, Conrad Sangma, and Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio will also attend the event as Guests of Honour.

Bollywood veteran Shakti Kapoor and singer Sunidhi Chauhan will also grace the event as informed by KAAC.

Separated for generations through history and subjected to various cultural, political and religious influences till the creation of the Mikir Hills district united them under a single administrative unit, Karbi Anglong Day is a commemoration of the founding of the Karbi Anglong autonomous district on 17th November 1959. The day is a celebration of the efforts, sacrifices, victories, and persistence that went into preserving the region’s composite identity today.

It is worth noting that the present Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong districts were created on November 7, 1951, by merging some parts of the Golaghat, Nagaon, and Cachar districts of Assam; and United Khasi and Jaintia Hills districts of present-day Meghalaya.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles