BJP Appoints Kamakhya Prasad Tasa as National Secretary in Organizational Reshuffle

No Comments
Posted in Assam, Featured, Northeast
NET Web Desk

Guwahati, July 29, 2023: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has undertaken a significant organizational rejig ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, announcing a reshuffle in its team of central office-bearers. Among the notable appointments is Rajya Sabha member from Assam, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, who has been appointed as the party’s National Secretary by the BJP’s national president, Jagat Prakash Nadda. The decision was conveyed by an official notification from the party.

Upon hearing the news, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma congratulated Tasa on his new role. CM Sarma took to Twitter and wrote, “Heartiest congratulations to all the newly-appointed office bearers of @BJP4India, including our esteemed colleague from Assam, Shri @KamakhyaTasa, on his appointment as the National Secretary of BJP.”

CM Sarma expressed confidence that under the guidance of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, the newly appointed office bearers would serve the party and the nation with dedication and excellence, leading to further progress and prosperity for the country.

The revamped list of central office-bearers now includes 13 vice-presidents and nine general secretaries. Bandi Sanjay, former Telangana BJP president, and Rajya Sabha MP Radha Mohan Agrawal have been appointed as general secretaries, while MLC and former vice-chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University, Tariq Mansoor, has been assigned the role of the party’s vice-president.

Anil Antony, son of veteran Congress leader AK Antony, who recently joined the BJP, has been appointed as the National Secretary. On the other hand, BJP has removed Karnataka leader CT Ravi and Assam Lok Sabha MP Dilip Saikia from their positions as general secretaries, with sources indicating that both leaders are likely to be nominated as candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Additionally, former Union minister Radha Mohan Singh has been dropped as a vice-president of the party. These latest appointments come shortly after the BJP named new state presidents for Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Punjab, and Jharkhand.

D Purandeshwari, Union minister, has been entrusted with the role of the new state president of Andhra Pradesh, replacing Somu Veerraju. Union minister G Kishan Reddy has been appointed as the new state president of Telangana, succeeding Bandi Sanjay. Meanwhile, former state minister Etela Rajendra will assume the position of chairman of BJP’s election management committee in Telangana.

In other appointments, former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy has been made a member of the party’s national executive, while Sunil Jakhar, who recently switched from Congress to BJP, has been appointed as the state chief of Punjab. Moreover, former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi will take charge as the new president of Jharkhand. The reorganization of the party’s leadership aims to strengthen its position and strategy as the 2024 elections draw closer.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles