Assam’s Congress Accuses Centre Of Betraying Six Communities Over ST Status

No Comments
Posted in Assam, Featured, Northeast
NET Web Desk

Guwahati, August 02, 2023: The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) has accused the Central Government of breaking its promise to grant Scheduled Tribes (ST) status to the six communities of Assam, namely Koch-Rajbongshi, Tai-Ahom, Chutia, Moran, Matak and Tea Tribes.

The APCC said that the BJP had included this demand in its manifesto for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and the 2016 Assembly elections, but had failed to take any positive step to fulfil it. The APCC also claimed that the BJP was playing with the emotions of the people and using the issue as a mere election gimmick.

The APCC further said that despite having a Union Minister from the tea tribes community, Rameshwar Teli, the government had not paid any attention to the aspirations of the six communities. The APCC also cited the statement of the Union Minister for Tribal Affairs in November 2022, who had said that the Assam Government had not submitted any proposal regarding this demand.

The APCC reminded that twelve communities were given reservation status in 2022, but the six communities of Assam were left out, which had sparked protests among them.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles
Related News