Wed, 23 Aug 2017

Northeast Today

30 Sikkim Legislators Vote for Presidential Poll

30 Sikkim Legislators Vote for Presidential Poll
July 17
17:03 2017

The voting for the Presidential election took place on Monday at the Sikkim Legislative Assembly (SLA) in the presence of Pravir Krishn, IAS, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Shipping as the Observer for the state for the election to the Office of the President appointed by the Election Commission along with L.M. Pradhan as the Presiding Officer/ARO-cum-Secretary, SLA.

The Presiding Officer informed that out of the 32 Legislatures of the State Legislative Assembly, 30 Legislatures exercised their franchise with 2 MLAs being unable to cast their vote due to unavoidable circumstances. This accounted to 93.75% of the votes.

Chief Electoral Officer Tenzing Gelek and Joint CEO Urvashi Poudyal jointly briefed the House about the casting of the votes.

Earlier, Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling, Speaker K. N. Rai, Deputy Speaker S. G. Lepcha along with all other Members of the House observed two minutes silence as a mark of respect on the sudden demise of the former Chief Minister of Sikkim, Nar Bahadur Bhandari.

They also offered heartfelt condolence to the bereaved family of the former Chief Minister.


Related Articles