Tue, 25 Jul 2017

Northeast Today

Meghalaya Lokayukta: Search Panel Asks for More Names

Meghalaya Lokayukta: Search Panel Asks for More Names
May 15
13:12 2017

In a new development, the search committee on Meghalaya Lokayukta has called for more names for the appointment of chairperson and members of the body.

According to the sources, some more names were needed to finally decide on the Lokayukta chairperson and adequate members of the anti-graft body. The last date for submission of names is May 19.

Earlier in February, there were a few applicants after the names for the post of the chairperson and four members were called by the search committee. The committee includes G.P Wahlang as chairman and B.B Dutta, L.M Sangma, Theilin Phanbuh and S.G Momin as members.

Later, after analyzing the names received, the search committee submitted its report on the selection of the Lokayukta chairperson and its four members on April 12 to Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, who is the chairman of the selection committee.

Till date, the search committee had forwarded the names of Pranoy Kumar Mushahary, retired Judge of the Gauhati High Court and chairperson of the state consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Bhalang Dhar, former commissioner and secretary, Prasanta Kumar Saikia, retired judge Gauhati High Court, C.D Kynjing, former state chief information commissioner, and Sreeranjan, additional chief secretary for the post of chairperson.

Other applicants for the post of chairperson, except Mushahary, had also applied for the post of members of the Lokayukta. Since more names were called, the search committee will further examine them before the final selection of the chairperson and members by the selection committee.


Related Articles