Congress Presidential Polls : 50 Delegates Cast Votes In Arunachal Pradesh

No Comments
Posted in Arunachal Pradesh, Featured, Northeast
NET Web Desk

Fifty of the 54 Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) delegates today casted their votes to elect the new president of All India Congress Committee (AICC).

According to a senior leader of the party, a few PCC members from the state cast their votes in New Delhi.

The President of Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) – Nabam Tuki was the first one to cast his vote.

Its worthy to note that the Congress veteran – Mallikarjun Kharge and Thiruvananthapuram MP – Shashi Tharoor are in the fray for the top post in the party. Voting began at 10 AM at Itanagar’s Rajiv Gandhi Bhawan and ended at 4 PM.

Kharge is considered the firm favourite for his perceived proximity to the Gandhis and backing by senior leaders, even as Tharoor pitched himself as the candidate of change.

The Congress leader Karti P Chidambaram, who backed Shashi Tharoor in the party’s presidential election, claimed the poll result will be a pleasant surprise.

Sources informed that 50 people voted at the Bharat Jodo Yatra camp, including Rahul Gandhi. While 96% voter turnout has been recorded in the Congress presidential polls

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More Articles
Related News